Andhra to develop five more smart cities

Vijayawada, December 16: Andhra Pradesh government has decided to develop five smart cities under a state sponsored scheme.

 Kurnool, Nellore, Ananthapur, Eluru and Ongole will be developed as smart cities and the guidelines will be similar to smart city scheme of the central government.

The state cabinet decided to create five special purpose vehicles for the purpose.

The central government has already selected Visakhapatnam, Tirupati and Kakinada for smart city project.

The cabinet also decided to develop 186 km inner and outer ring roads in Amaravati.

The cabinet decided to create Special Purpose Vehicle (SPV) in Guntur/ Vijayawada Municipal Corporation in the name of “Guntur /Vijayawada Urban Infrastructure Development Corporation Ltd.” for development of

infrastructure projects in the two cities.

In other key decisions, an economic city will be developed over 250 acres in Jakkampudi in Vijayawada.

The cabinet also gave its approval for construction of international convention centre over 11 acre in Visakhapatnam.

The cabinet decided to increase the salaries of HR employees of Society for Elimination of Rural poverty (SERP) by 35 per cent and 10 per cent additional pay as incentive basing on the performance of the employees.

Chief Minister N. Chandrababu Naidu will  write letter to external affairs minister to protect the interests of people employed in the United States as the US government decided to give priority for locals in employment.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.