TDP comes out with new faces for MP seats

The ruling Telugu Desam Party is coming out with new faces for the April 11 Parliament elections. As most of the sitting MPs have refused to contest or opting to contest the Assembly seats, TDP chief Chandrababu Naidu had done a lot of exercise to fill these vacancies. The party had prevailed upon former Union minister P Ashok Gajapathi Raju to contest once again from Vizianagaram Lok Sabha constituency as he had not shown any interest this time.

The party is looking for alternative name for Visakhapatnam and is working on finalising the name in a day or two. Chandrababu Naidu had shifted Minister Ganta Srinivasa Rao from Bheemili Assembly constituency to the Anakapalli Lok Sabha constituency as sitting MP Avanthi Srinivas had defected to the YSR Congress.

In Rajahmundry, the sitting MP M Murali Mohan had refused to contest and this had prompted Chandrababu Naidu to look for someone in the family. The TDP chief had picked up Maganti Roopa from Murali Mohan’s family for this seat. Roopa is Murali Mohan’s daughter-in-law who had been active in the politics for the past one year. In Ongole though the party had pinned hopes on former MP and sitting MLC Magunta Srinivasula Reddy this time, he is planning to quit the party and join the YSR Congress. This had forced Chandrababu Naidu to pick up Minister Siddha Raghava Rao to contest from Ongole. The chief minister is also keen on former Union Minister Panabaka Lakshmi to field her from Tirupathi Lok Sabha constituency. At Nellore, the party chief had asked former MLA Beeda Mastan Rao to be ready for the Lok Sabha elections.

The TDP chief is bringing Lok Sabha former speaker G M C Balayogi’s son Harish Mathur to contest from Amalapuram Lok Sabha seat. Sitting MP P Ravindra Babu had already joined the YSR Congress. Nandyala sitting MP S P Y Reddy is asking the seat for his daughter, while Narasaraopet sitting MP Rayapati Sambasiva Rao is asking for Sattenapalli Assembly seat for his son if he has to contest the Parliament election.

He had decided to drop Butta Renuka from Kurnool Lok Sabha seat this time as the seat has been allocated to Kotla Suryaprakash Reddy. Renuka will contest from Adoni Assembly seat. The TDP chief is also looking at fielding former Congress minister A Saipratap from Rajampet Lok Sabha seat. However, all these candidatures are expected to be finalised in a day or two.

Ram Tatavarthi
About Ram Tatavarthi 360 Articles
Ram has been continuing in the journalism for the past 25 years. He started his career from Samacharam and worked for various print and electronic media houses like Eenadu, Andhra Bhoomi, the evening daily Sandhya, in cable, Andhra Prabha, Citi Cable, TV 9, CCC channel etc.. By having extensive experience in journalism and also by always keeping up to date with the latest technology he is now working as a freelance journalist.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.