AP creates 50 new municipalities

In a swift move, the Andhra Pradesh government had created 50 new municipalities upgrading the existing major gram panchayats. The government had issued orders creating the new municipalities in the 13 districts, while it is getting ready for local body elections some time in December-January.

In Guntur district, Dachepalli and Nadikudi were made one municipality, while Gurazala and Nizampatnam towns were made independent municipalities. In Prakasam district, Darsi, Podili, Marturu, Tangutur, Singarayakonda and Vetapalem were upgraded into municipalities. In Nellore the government made a small exercise by merging at least two major panchayats and upgraded them into municipalities. Buchireddipalem and Vuyyuru as one, Tada and Tada Kandrika as one and Kota, Vaakadu and Gudali as one municipality. Besides the towns like Alluru, Podalakuru, Muthukuru, Rapur were also made municipalities.

The lone Kuppam in Chittoor district, which is represented by Telugu Desam Party chief N Chandrababu Naidu in the Assembly, was made a municipality. Bethamcharla, Koilakuntla, Pattikonda, Kodumuru, Banaganapalli and Panyam in Kurnool district, Koduru, Nandaluru and Vempalle in Kadapa, Penukonda, Uravakonda and Gorantla in Ananthapur district of Rayalaseema were made municipalities.

In Uttarandhra region, Anandapuram, Payakaraopet and Nakkapalli of Visakhapatnam district, Kurupam and Cheepurupalli-Garividi of Vizianagaram district and Narasannapet, Tekkali, Pathapatnam and Ranasthalam from Srikakulam district were made municipalities.

Kothapet, Ravulapalem, Anaparthi and Jaggampet in East Godavari, Akiveedu, Chintalapudi and Athili in West Godavari district were also made municipalities.

In the capital region of Krishna district, the government had upgraded Avanigadda, Kaikaluru, Mylavaram, Pamarru and Vissannapet major gram panchayats into municipalities.

Once, the exercise is completed with municipal offices start working, the State government wants to go for elections, which are due for over one-and-a-half years. The state government had not conducted local body elections for political reasons as TDP was not in favour of this ahead of 2019 general elections.

Now, comfortably settled in power with 151 Assembly seats on hand, the YSR Congress government is preparing the ground for the local bodies’ elections at the earliest.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.