TDP struggles to clear MLA list

The ruling Telugu Desam Party had finally cleared its Lok Sabha candidates’ list on Monday night. It appeared that the party chief Chandrababu Naidu had finally succumbed to the pressures from late M V V S Murthy’s grandson, M Bharat, who had been insisting on the MP seat. Though the party had initially tried to avoid this family, Bharat held a protest and finally succeeded.

The TDP had nominated all its sitting members except in Rajahmundry and Ananthapur, where the MPs wanted their scions to contest. Chandrababu Naidu had agreed for the candidatures of Maganti Roopa, daughter-in-law of sitting MP Murali Mohan from Rajahmundry and J C Pawan Reddy, son of sitting MP J C Diwakar Reddy at Ananthapur. The new entrants from Congress, Kishore Chandra Deo, Kotla Suryaprakash Reddy and Panabaka Lakshmi were accommodated at Araku, Kurnool and Tirupathi respectively.

The party had dropped its Undi MLA V  V Sivarama Raju, whose name was cleared in the first list and named him as the Lok Sabha candidate for Narasapur in West Godavari district. In the MLA list, the TDP had made several corrections. Two of its candidates have dropped out from the race forcing the party to find alternative names. Adala Prabhakar Reddy, whose name was cleared for Nellore rural had quit the party and joined the YSR Congress. He is now the YSR Congress candidate for Nellore Lok Sabha Constituency. Sitting MLA from Srisailam, Budda Rajasekhar Reddy, whose name was also cleared in the first list had finally quit the politics quoting health ground. The party had to field new candidate for this segment.

The party had dropped sitting MLA Yamini Bala at the Singanamala segment in Ananthapur at the behest of J C Diwakar Reddy. The seat was now given to Bandaru Sravani. The party had also dropped a couple of sitting MLAs including Hanumantharaya Chowdary at Kalyanadurgam and S V Mohan Reddy from Kurnool. Party MP T G Venkatesh gained an upper hand over the party by getting the Kurnool assembly ticket to his son Bharath.

The TDP chief too had succumbed to the pressures from Tadikonda sitting MLA Tenali Sravan Kumar, who was dropped in the first list. The TDP chief had brought Bapatla MP Malyadri to Tadikonda due to pressures from the local TDP leaders. However, Sravan Kumar seems to have put heavy pressure on the chief minister and finally had his word honoured. The TDP chief had also made some changes to the first list in Prakasam district. Chandrababu Naidu had brought in Kadiri Baburao for Darsi and Mukku Ugranarasimha Reddy for Kanigiri, which were decided in favour others in the first list.

The only surprise in the TDP second list was the former Congress MP from Anakapalli, Sabbam Hari, who was named TDP’s candidate from Bhimili segment.

Ravi Batchali
About Ravi Batchali 943 Articles
With twenty five years of  experience in Print / Electronic & Social Media, had an illustrious career in leading daily news papers. Very creative and a tenacious reporter of the news with a reputation for impeccable ethics. His passion for Community Journalism and his work as a staff reporter was widely acclaimed. An excellent storyteller who treats news, features and other events with equal priority.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.